A Certain Ratio – 4 track sampler


As a key component of Manchester’s post-punk scene from the late 1970s, A Certain Ratio built up an extensive back catalogue and legacy with the band shifting through various members across its career, with its core line-up consisting of Jeremy Kerr, Martin Moscrop and Donald Johnson. Now, Mute has announced a partnership with the band to look after their catalogue for recordings and publishing for the next two years starting February 2017. The releases will continue with box sets, vinyl and special cassette releases that will include B-sides as well as unreleased tracks and rarities.


Jon Hopkins – “Opalescent” reissued



   Jon Hopkins‘ debut album, Opalescent, was reissued and remastered for the first time last week in celebration of the 15th anniversary of its release in a special edition 2 LP gatefold with liner notes. , and now there is a new video to accompany album track ‘Cold Out There’.


Stranger Things Soundtrack


Series lovers across the world have been glued to Netflix’s phenomenal new TV series, Stranger Things.  One of its most stand-out components is the phenomenal synthesizer-led score from Austin band S U R V I V E’s Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein. The demand has been surging for a release of the score, so the official soundtrack is coming soon. So far S U R V I V E also announced last week that they have signed to Relapse and have a new album, RR7349, due for release on September 30.


Anohni – “Drone Bomb Me”



Anohni (formerly Antony Hegarty) will release her new album HOPELESSNESS later this year, featuring co-production from Hudson Mohawke and Oneohtrix Point Never. Having debuted the awe-inspiring “4 Degrees” in late 2015, she’s returned with her newest single “Drone Bomb Me”. Watch out here:


Beth Orton – “Moon”


Orton has been working on new music with Andrew Hung, one half of the electro-psych-noise duo Fuck Buttons. And now she’s announced that her new album Kidsticks, the follow-up to 2012’s Sugaring Season, is coming this spring. Her first single is entitled “Moon”. Listen in here:

The Soft Moon – “No-One Driving”


John Foxx’s influence on electronic music is undebatably high. So now it’s the turn of his fans. His own label Metamatic Records is out to collect some of his fans’ covers, covering some of his finest pieces. Listen to The Soft Moon‘s cover:

The Chemical Brothers – “EML Ritual”


Later this month brings the release of The Chemical Brothers’ first new album in five years, Born in the Echoes. The seminal electronic duo has previewed the release with “Sometimes I Feel So Deserted”, the Q-Tip featuring “Go”, and the St. Vincent-aided “Under Neon Lights”. Now, they’ve unveiled “EML Ritual”, which you can stream below.

Born in the Echoes arrives July 17th via Astralwerks.

Born in the Echoes Tracklist:
01. Sometimes I Feel So Deserted
02. Go (feat. Q-Tip)
03. Under Neon Lights (feat. St. Vincent)
04. EML Ritual
05. I’ll See You There
06. Just Bang
07. Reflexion
08. Taste of Honey
09. Born in the Echoes (feat. Cate Le Bon)
10. Radiate
11. Wide Open (feat. Beck)
12. Let Us Build a City *
13. Wo Ha *
14. Go (Extended Mix) *
15. Reflexion (Extended Mix) *

* = deluxe edition

The Chemical Brothers – “Under Neon Lights” feat. St Vincent


The Chemical Brothers have unveiled “Under Neon Lights”, a new single featuring St. Vincent taken from upcoming LP Born In The Echoes. It premiered on Lauren Laverne’s BBC 6 Music show earlier today (22 June). Born In The Echoes is out 17 July on Astralwerks. Stream the single below: